Teachers Honored

It’s no secret that the expectations are high in Plainfield - for staff as well as students. So we are especially happy to share three stories about excellent educators and the recognition they’ve received this week. 

Dr. Mary Giesting is the Director of The Imagination Lab, and her vision and passion for the possibilities that arise by engaging young children with science, math and technology were vital in the creation of this unique program. She’s being honored by TechPoint as a nominee for their 21st annual Mira Awards, the state’s largest and longest-running technology excellence and innovation recognition program. In the category of Tech Education, other nominees are:

  • Center for Information and Communication Sciences, Ball State University

  • Codelicious

  • Eleven Fifty Academy

  • Matthew Etchison, CIO, Ivy Tech Community College

  • Steve Fouty, McDermond Center Director, DePauw University

  • Girl Scouts of Central Indiana

  • Indiana University Idea Garden, IUPUI

  • Infosys Foundation USA

  • Marianne McKenzie, Code Cafe, Indianapolis Public Library

  • Nextech

  • Purdue Polytechnic High School

  • Elevate Ventures

  • Victor Gutwein, Managing Partner, M25

  • HG Ventures

  • Innovatemap Ventures

  • IU Ventures

  • Ade Olonoh, Venture Partner, Starting Line

Late last spring we announced that PHS teacher Adam Ferguson was selected as the 2020 Plainfield Schools Teacher of the Year, and this week he was honored at the Indiana Statehouse by State Sen. Mike Young and State Rep. Bob Behning. Also present for the recognition ceremony were PCSC School Board President Scott Flood, PCSC Superintendent Scott Olinger and PHS Principal Mel Siefert. 

Last weekend, PHS science teacher A.J. McAdams was honored at the Project Lead the Way (PLTW) Indy Summit for his selection as the PLTW Teacher of Excellence. McAdams teaches several PLTW courses in biomedical engineering, a program that has expanded significantly over the last few years. 

Please join us in both congratulating and celebrating these three outstanding educators. Their dedication to our students is a big part of what makes this such a great school community. Mary, Adam and AJ, we appreciate you!